Parfums Lucien Lelong: The Peter Fink Collection
10 a.m.–4 p.m., Monday-Saturday
The FIDM Museum is delighted to present an exceptional collection of fragrance, cosmetics, and ephemera from the house of Lucien Lelong. Some of these objects, including a fur-covered lipstick and the Full Dress and Golden Grotto lipsticks, have been featured on our blog. This group of objects was graciously donated by Monique Fink, wife of artist Peter Fink, who worked for Monsieur Lelong as package designer and interior decorator. Mr. Fink went on to discover the camera, and became a reputable photographer and artist of the twentieth century. Parfums Lucien Lelong: The Peter Fink Collection, a new exhibit in the Annette Green Fragrance Archive, highlights selected examples of Peter Fink's work for Parfums Lucien Lelong.
The Fink donation is one to be admired, offering a new perspective on a brand that has been in business for nearly one hundred years. Through rough sketches of bottles and mock advertisements for campaigns, the public has the unique opportunity to go behind-the-scenes of Parfums Lucien Lelong.
Parfums Lucien Lelong was established in 1924 and continued as a business after the couture house closed in 1949. Lelong was one of the early couture designers who utilized his dominance over the fashion world by expanding into the fragrance industry. Lelong felt that fragrance was an essential part of a woman’s distinct style and should be treated as the accessory that completes her look. This installation covers three decades of multiple fragrances, revealing the aesthetic and creative scope of a remarkable fashion brand.